eSports: part of our youth culture

In today's blog post, we'd like to briefly talk about the growth of the "eSports" field and what it means to our youth.

Digitalisation creates new living environments and leisure spaces for young people, which is precisely why it is important that new youth cultures are given opportunities and spaces to develop. Especially in the current situation, our lives are shifting even more into the digital realm. Young people in particular are spending more time at home today and are increasingly using digital channels to keep in touch with their friends. A particular increase can currently be observed here in the area of "gaming". People meet in the digital space, play games together, maintain social contact with their friends and learn how to use digital media - a necessary core competence that is becoming increasingly important in today's world.

eSports are by no means a marginal social phenomenon. Already 54% of the population plays a computer game at least once a week. In Austria, around 5.3 million people "game" several times a month and the average gamer spends around 11.5 hours a week actively playing games. In addition, the eSports scene, i.e. all those who compete against others in tournaments, is growing continuously and currently stands at around 50,000 eSports players in Austria.

Gaming connects: eSports & Gaming have become part of the culture, especially the youth culture, where the social exchange is in the foreground.

Β 

Powered by RATKO MEDIENAGENTUR

Β 

eSport: Gaming is becoming a megatrend

eSport Corner

Despite the Corona pandemic, or perhaps because of it, the πšŽπš‚πš™πš˜πš›πš is seeing big gains. Forecasts expect sales to triple in this area by the end of 2022. While people in this country are still debating how far eSports really are sports, the rest of the world has already recognized the potential of the industry. It comes as no surprise that the world's first gaming hotel has opened in the Taiwanese city of Taoyuan.

And meanwhile eSport has also arrived in Europe: An eSports hotel has already opened its doors in Amsterdam. The Arcade Hotel in the heart of the Dutch city not only offers chic accommodation for travelers, it also has everything on board that makes gamers' hearts beat faster.

The eSports scene is also growing continuously in German-speaking countries. We as RATKO MEDIENAGENTUR do not want to miss this trend and would like to make the probably coolest sport in the world more popular and bring it closer to you in the future, and not only in the Lechtal. How? We will tell you more about that soon...

Powered by RATKO MEDIENAGENTUR

eSport: Teil unserer Jugendkultur

In unserem heutigen Blogbeitrag möchten wir kurz über den Wachstum des Bereiches „eSports“ und die Bedeutung dieser Branche für unsere Jugend erzählen.

Die Digitalisierung schafft neue Lebenswelten und Freizeiträume für junge Menschen und gerade deshalb ist es wichtig, dass neue Jugendkulturen Chancen und Räume bekommen, sich zu entwickeln. Vor allem in der aktuellen Situation verlagert sich unser Leben noch stärker in den digitalen Bereich. Besonders junge Menschen verbringen heute mehr Zeit zu Hause und nutzen zunehmend digitale Kanäle, um mit ihren Freunden in Kontakt zu bleiben. Eine besondere Zunahme ist hier derzeit im Bereich „Gaming“ zu beobachten. Man trifft sich im digitalen Raum, zockt gemeinsam, pflegt so den sozialen Kontakt im Freundeskreis und lernt ganz nebenbei den Umgang mit digitalen Medien, eine notwendige Kernkompetenz, die in der heutigen Zeit immer wichtiger wird.

Bei eSport handelt es sich keineswegs um ein soziales Randphänomen. Bereits 54% der Bevölkerung zockt mindestens einmal pro Woche ein Computer-Game. In Österreich „gamen“ rund 5,3 Millionen Menschen mehrmals im Monat und der durchschnittliche Gamer verbringt rund 11,5 Stunden pro Woche aktiv mit Spielen. Darüber hinaus wächst die eSport-Szene, also all jene, die sich in Turnieren mit anderen messen, kontinuierlich und liegt derzeit bei rund 50.000 eSports-Spielern in Österreich.

Gaming verbindet: eSport & Gaming sind mittlerweile Teil der Kultur, insbesondere der Jugendkultur geworden, bei dem der soziale Austausch im Vordergrund steht.

 

Powered by RATKO MEDIENAGENTUR

 

eSport: Zocken wird zum Megatrend

eSport Corner

Trotz der Corona-Pandemie, oder vielleicht gerade deswegen verzeichnet der 𝚎𝚂𝚙𝚘𝚛𝚝 große Zuwächse. Prognosen erwarten bis Ende 2022 eine Umsatz Verdreifachung in diesem Bereich. Während hierzulande immer noch diskutiert wird, wie weit eSport nun wirklich Sport ist, hat der Rest der Welt bereits das Potenzial der Branche erkannt. Da wundert es nicht, dass in der taiwanesischen Stadt Taoyuan das weltweit erste Gaming-Hotel eröffnet wurde.

Und mittlerweile ist eSport auch in Europa angekommen: In Amsterdam hat bereits ein eSports Hotel seine Pforten geöffnet. Das Arcade-Hotel im Herzen der niederländischen Stadt bietet nicht nur eine schicke Unterkunft für Reisende, sie hat auch alles an Bord, was Zockerherzen höherschlagen lässt.

Auch im deutschsprachigen Raum wächst die eSport Szene kontinuierlich. Wir als RATKO MEDIENAGENTUR möchten diesen Trend nicht versäumen und möchten in Zukunft den wohl coolsten Sport der Welt bei uns, und das nicht nur im Lechtal, populärer machen und euch näher bringen. Wie? Dazu verraten wir bald mehr…

Powered by RATKO MEDIENAGENTUR