Megatrend health and sport in the hotel industry

MEGATREND 4: HEALTH AND SPORT

People crave offerings that support their HEALTH. It is the most important value for most people, especially in our aging society. But even many younger people no longer leave their health to chance.

The general need for feel-good factors and relaxation from everyday stress still exists on holiday, but no longer only through passive relaxation (e.g. in the sauna area). Rather, it is about a holistic relaxation culture that focuses on improving life skills: physical, but also emotional and mental. The focus shifts from physical to mental health (mindfulness). Offers and therapies that take these aspects into account are very popular (e.g. Ayurveda). The focus here is not on curing diseases, but on maintaining health.

MEDICAL WELLNESS

There is an enormous development around the topic of "Medical Wellness", i.e. the hotel as a healing place: a new symbiosis of medicine and tourism, because the offers are neither hospital nor wellness hotel. It includes measures with a health-scientific approach to sustainably improve the quality of life. Establishments that focus on medical wellness must succeed in combining these two concepts and derive something new from them.

HOME OFFICE ON HOLIDAY

As the boundaries between work and leisure are blurring for more and more people, it is not only the classic wellness hotels that can help their guests to rediscover their work-life balance. Business hotels will also not be able to do without suitable regeneration offers in the future. Here, it will not only depend on the suitable hardware, but also on the overall concept of the hotel.

SPORT

SPORT is also an essential pillar of the hotel industry. Gone are the days when the holiday-seeking tourist lazed on the beach. It is now known that lack of fitness and exercise, as well as stress, are major factors in illness. In 24/7 performance societies, the desire for fitness is more than a simple leisure activity. Today, those who exercise are primarily optimizing themselves to increase their performance for personal and professional success.

In the hotel business:

  • support guests in their health-conscious daily planning beyond massages and other spa offers
  • with appropriately designed hotel rooms or the use of health-promoting building and furnishing materials (e.g. Feng Shui, allergy-friendly materials, etc.).
  • intelligent enjoyment concepts in restaurants (healthy and healing ingredients).
  • Healing Architecture: As a prevention against hectic, stress and unhealthy environmental influences, buildings become a medicine.
  • Detoxing: Targeted selection of foods and care products; avoid harmful, unhealthy substances.
  • Transfer to mental health: mental or digital detoxing.
  • Healthy balance between animal and plant-based diet (flexitarian)
  • Mind-Sport: the conscious and mindful contact with nature, with others or with oneself is in the foreground.
  • New meaning of sport: away from pure self-optimization, towards a comeback of movement itself.
  • Not only offering workout basements, but also attractive sports and training facilities
  • Self-tracking: record & evaluate vital data (promote self-responsibility)

Bottom line:

Sportivity and health is a huge market for the hotel industry, it already has been and is becoming more so as health-conscious people want to be active in health-promoting environments. Sportivity is anchoring itself as a fundamental lifestyle!

Also one of the strongest trends of our time is "mobility and connectivity". But more about that in our next blog post.

 

Powered by RATKO MEDIENAGENTUR

Recommended Posts

Megatrend Gesundheit und Sport in der Hotellerie

MEGATREND 4: GESUNDHEIT UND SPORT

Die Menschen sehnen sich nach Angeboten, die ihre GESUNDHEIT unterstützen. Es ist für die meisten Menschen der wichtigste Wert, vor allem in unserer alternden Gesellschaft. Aber auch viele jüngere Menschen überlassen ihre Gesundheit nicht mehr dem Zufall.

Das allgemeine Bedürfnis nach Wohlfühlfaktoren und Erholung vom Alltagsstress besteht weiterhin im Urlaub, aber nicht mehr nur durch passive Entspannung (zB in der Saunalandschaft). Vielmehr geht es um eine ganzheitliche Entspannungskultur, die sich auf die Verbesserung der Lebenskompetenzen konzentriert: körperlich, aber auch emotional und mental. Der Fokus verlagert sich von der körperlichen zur geistigen Gesundheit (Achtsamkeit). Angebote und Therapien, die diese Aspekte berücksichtigen, sind sehr beliebt (zB Ayurveda). Es geht hier nicht um die Heilung von Krankheiten, sondern um die Erhaltung der Gesundheit.

MEDICAL WELLNESS

Es gibt eine enorme Entwicklung rund um das Thema „Medical Wellness“, also das Hotel als Heilstätte: eine neue Symbiose aus Medizin und Tourismus, denn die Angebote sind weder Krankenhaus noch Wellnesshotel. Es umfasst Maßnahmen mit einem gesundheitswissenschaftlich Ansatz zur nachhaltigen Verbesserung der Lebensqualität. Betriebe, die sich auf Medical Wellness konzentrieren, muss es gelingen, diese beiden Konzepte zu verbinden und daraus etwas Neues abzuleiten.

HOMEOFFICE IM URLAUB

Da die Grenzen zwischen Arbeit und Freizeit für immer mehr Menschen zerfließen, können nicht nur die klassischen Wellness-Hotels ihren Gästen helfen, ihre Work-Life-Balance wiederzufinden. Auch Business-Hotels werden in Zukunft nicht auf geeignete Regenerationsangebote verzichten können. Dabei wird es nicht nur auf die passende Hardware ankommen, sondern auch auf ein Gesamtkonzept des Hotels.

SPORT

SPORT ist ebenfalls eine wesentliche Säule der Hotellerie. Vorbei sind die Zeiten, in denen der urlaubssuchende Tourist am Strand faulenzte. Inzwischen ist bekannt, dass mangelnde Fitness und Bewegung sowie Stress die Hauptfaktoren für Krankheiten sind. In den 24/7-Leistungsgesellschaften ist der Wunsch nach Fitness mehr als nur eine simple Freizeitbeschäftigung. Wer heute Sport treibt, optimiert in erster Linie sich selbst, um seine Leistungsfähigkeit für den privaten und beruflichen Erfolg zu steigern.

In der Hotellerie:

  • über Massagen und andere Spa-Angebote hinaus Gäste bei ihrer gesundheitsbewussten Alltagsplanung unterstützen
  • mit entsprechend gestalteten Hotelzimmern oder der Verwendung von gesundheits-fördernden Bau- und Einrichtungsmaterialien (zB Feng Shui, allergikerfreundliche Stoffe, etc.).
  • intelligente Genusskonzepte in Restaurants (gesunden und heilenden Zutaten).
  • Healing Architecture: Als Prävention gegen Hektik, Stress und ungesunde Umwelteinflüsse werden Gebäude zur Arznei.
  • Detoxing: Gezielte Auswahl von Lebensmitteln und Pflegeprodukten; schädliche, ungesunde Substanzen vermeiden.
  • Übertragung auf psychische Gesundheit: Mentales bzw. digitales Detoxing.
  • Gesunde Balance zwischen tierischer und pflanzlicher Ernährung (Flexitarier)
  • Mind-Sport: der bewusste und achtsame Kontakt mit der Natur, mit anderen oder mit sich selbst steht im Vordergrund.
  • Neue Bedeutung von Sport: Weg von der reinen Selbstoptimierung, hin zu einem Comeback der Bewegung an sich.
  • Nicht nur Workout-Keller anbieten, sondern auch attraktive Sport- und Trainingsmöglichkeiten
  • Self-Tracking: Vitaldaten aufzeichnen & auswerten (fördern die Selbstverantwortung)

Fazit:

Sport und Gesundheit ist ein riesiger Markt für die Hotelbranche, war es schon und wird es immer mehr, denn gesundheitsbewusste Menschen wollen in gesundheitsfördernden Umgebungen aktiv sein. Sportivity verankert sich als grundlegendes Lebensgefühl!

Auch einer der stärksten Trends unserer Zeit ist die „Mobilität und Konnektivität“. Doch darüber mehr in unserem nächsten Blogbeitrag.

 

Powered by RATKO MEDIENAGENTUR

Empfohlene Beiträge